Isa Likes his Excersaucer

[blip.tv ?posts_id=352908&dest=11261]

[blip.tv ?posts_id=353017&dest=11261]

It seems as if Isa is changing right before my eyes. I think sometimes I can actually see him growing if I look closely enough. He’s got to be over 23lbs by now (my aching arms & back!) and he’s wearing 12-18 month size clothes. In the last 2 weeks, not only has he been practicing his cry for “Ma Ma,” he’s also started calling Eduardo “Da Da” which is curious since we’ve been referring to Eduardo as Poppa. And boy can Isa roll! Chubby thighs and 3rd chins notwithstanding, this bruiser can clear across the room in a blink. The other night, Isa made a record 4 rolls in a row and rolled himself right off the bed. Luckily we’ve been sleeping on the futon so the floor was only a 3 inch drop, but the message was clear: It’s time to start sleeping in the crib! Isa does not like this at all, but I’m determined to get him used to the crib before school starts. We use it as a play pen during the day so he gets used to being inside it and I put him down in it each night. He still ends up on the futon with us at some point in the night, but I’m making an effort to just keep putting him back in there.

I can’t believe school starts in 2 weeks. I’ve gotten so used to being home with my little guy, it tears me up a bit to realize I have to leave him soon. How in the world will I juggle these 2 full time jobs? When I went back to work after maternity leave, Isa was a quiet, calm, very mellow 3-5 month- old. Now he’s a vocal, demonstrative and energetic soon-to- be 8 month old–so much fun too. But gone are the days when he was content to simply be held. I can’t imagine what it will be like for Eduardo and I to come home from work, play with Isa, make dinner, get Isa ready for bed, get him to sleep and then start school work. Yikes. Of course, these will be the days that I look back on later and say they were some of the best of my life. I am looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

