The Darjeeling Limited–Our first Movie Date

Thanks to Aunt Maura & Uncle Osvaldo who watched Isa for us, Edo & I had our first real date Saturday night (my birthday) since Isa was born. We went to see a movie! It was the first movie we’ve seen in well over a year and it was wonderful, although we had our trials getting there. We saw The Darjeeling Limited and because it was a Saturday night and a new release, we had to go all the way downtown to find a theater that wasn’t sold out. It took forever on the local train, so we were 20 minutes late–I was annoyed because I kept thinking :”It’s my birthday and this is the first @#%#@$ movie I’ve seen in a year and now we’re going to miss the beginning and sit in the first row and throw our necks out.” We rushed into the theater and sure enough, the movie had started and the seats were all filled, so we sat on the popcorn littered steps of the balcony with a big “Humph.” OK–I’m going to make the best of it and enjoy it anyway, so I’m getting into the movie, not quite sure what’s going on yet–three brothers, ok, they’re traveling, there’s a train, they seem to be on a quest. And then all of a sudden the credits start to roll. I’m like, “What?” Then we realize that in our frantic haste, we’d run into the wrong theater of the mutlimegaopolis. So now we’d seen the end before the beginning. Our first date night was not going smoothly. Poor Eduardo–he kept telling me to be calm, to breathe, rubbing my back. I wanted to scream! Well, we rushed about some more and finally found one of the 6 theaters in which it was playing that was starting soon. We found two seats, not next to each other, but at least we were able to pass popcorn back and forth anyway. We absolutely loved the movie, by the way. It was beautiful. (When you see the movie, you’ll understand why it was actually really perfect that we saw the end before the beginning, so all worked out.) I really love Wes Anderson. I feel as if all his movies tell the same story of adult siblings looking back on their childhoods’ realizing their parents, while perhaps not bad people, were actually terrible parents. Carrying their wounded inner child in their arms, as adults they confront their parent for answers, explanation, and healing but the parent is like, “Hey–get over it. What’s done is done. It’s not really my problem any more.” And of course, they’re right. The time for mommy is painfully over and any healing for the now grown children must come from inside. There is a scene in the film where Owen Wilson’s character Francis removes the bandages from an accident. He takes a good look at his wounds in the mirror and says, “I guess I have some more healing to do.” Yes, yes–we all do. It’s so sincere and unpretentious that it breaks your heart wide open. The movie touched Eduardo and I deeply, especially now that we are parents ourselves.

I’m not big on celebrity gossip (I only read People when I’m on line at the grocery store), and I certainly don’t want to create more here, but I wanted to say that I was very saddened to hear about Owen Wilson’s suicide attempt. The troubled parallels between his personal life and his Wes Anderson characters are uncanny. Does life inform art? Does playing the character stir emotions for the actor? I hope that the message of healing so beautifully expressed in Darjeeling reaches Mr. Wilson and restores him whole.

Leave a Reply

